The PDF versions of my lectures are publicly viewable. The PPTX versions are behind a password protected class website. The PPTX versions are, in a word, better and allow you to view the embedded videos and animations.

If you would like access to the original PPTX versions and you are not enrolled in this course, please email me: jonf@cs.umd.edu.

Other professors/teachers: you are completely welcome to use my slides in your course; however, I would appreciate proper attribution and an email letting me know that you found them useful. :)

If you do view the PPTX versions, know that you need the proper fonts for the slides to render correctly. I tend to use Helvetica Neue Ultra Light, Segoe UI Light, Segoe UI Semibold, and Segoe Print.


Week 01

Lecture 01: Intro to Class & HCI

Tuesday, 09/03/2013
PDF (13.8MB) | PPTX (186MB)

Lecture 02: About You and About Design

Thursday, 09/05/2013
PDF (5.7MB) | PPTX (26.6MB)


Week 02

Lecture 03: Idea Generation, Design Process, Understanding Users I

Tuesday, 09/10/2013
PDF (6.8MB) | PPTX (110MB)

Lecture 04: In-Class Activity with Dr. Bederson, In-Class Discussion about IDEO Video, and Team Forming

Thursday, 09/12/2013
PDF (2.2MB) | PPTX (52.9MB)


Week 03

Lecture 05: In-Class Project Planning

Thursday, 09/17/2013
In-class activity, no slides.

Lecture 06: Understanding Users II

Thursday, 09/19/2013
PDF (23.5MB) | PPTX (148.0MB)


Week 04

Lecture 07: Humans I

Tuesday, 09/24/2013
PDF (10.0MB) | PPTX (57.2MB)

Lecture 08: Humans II

Thursday, 09/27/2013
PDF (6.6MB) | PPTX (42.7MB)


Week 05

Lecture 09: The Computer: Inputs I

Tuesday, 10/01/2013
PDF (10.0MB) | PPTX (57.2MB)

Lecture 10: Project Proposal Presentations I

Thursday, 09/27/2013
No slides; in-class presentations.


Week 06

Lecture 11: Project Proposal Presentations II and The Computer: Inputs II

Tuesday, 10/08/2013
~Half of lecture was in-class presentations then we finished off Lecture09.

Lecture 12: Design Principles
Thursday, 10/10/2013
PDF (24.8MB) | PPTX (58.1MB)


Week 07

Lecture 13: Sketching

Tuesday, 10/15/2013
PDF (49.5MB) | PPTX (28.0MB)

Lecture 14: Design Critiques

Thursday, 10/17/2013
PDF (4.6MB) | PPTX (38.7MB)


Week 08

Lecture 15: No Class

Tuesday, 10/22/2013
Prepare for midterm!

Lecture 16: Midterm

Thursday, 10/24/2013
In-class midterm, no slides.


Week 09

Lecture 17: Prototyping

Tuesday, 10/29/2013
PDF (4.5MB) | PPTX (468MB)

Lecture 18: Design as Remix and In-Class TA05 Work
Thursday, 10/31/2013
PDF (8.4MB) | PPTX (167MB)


Week 10

Lecture 19: Aesthetics, Emotion, and Applying Design Principles

Tuesday, 11/05/2013
PDF (6.4MB) | PPTX (485MB)

Lecture 20: Gestalt, Grids, and In-Class Exercise

Thursday, 11/07/2013
PDF (9.5MB) | PPTX (72.7MB)


Week 11

Lecture 21: Visual Design: Color

Tuesday, 11/12/2013
PDF (8.9MB) | PPTX (79.4MB)

Lecture 22: In-Class Design Critiques of TA06

Thursday, 11/14/2013
In-class critiques of TA06


Week 12

Lecture 23: Visual Design: Typography & Legibility

Tuesday, 11/19/2013
PDF (6.8MB) | PPTX (38.7MB)

Lecture 24: In-Class Quiz and Intro to Evaluation

Thursday, 11/21/2013
PDF (3.81MB) | PPTX (11.1MB)


Week 13

Lecture 25: Evaluation II: Inspection-Based Methods & Formal Methods

Tuesday, 11/26/2013
PDF (8.98MB) | PPTX (24.4MB)

No Class: Thanksgiving

Thursday, 11/28/2013
Have a good break!


Week 14

Lecture 26: Evaluation III: Automated Data Collection & Testing

Tuesday, 12/03/2013
PDF (6.8MB) | PPTX (38.7MB)
In this class, we tried out a collaborative learning and lecture activity. You can view the Google Doc here .

Lecture 27: Evaluation IV: Experiments

Thursday, 12/05/2013